Project 1: Dynamic Compositions

The focal point of my finished piece is the darkest line in the center near the top. The viewer’s eye is drawn to it because of the heavy line weight.  However, I feel as though it could be stronger. The focal point gets somewhat lost in the weight of all of the other lines.  I used invisible lines to create a visual flow from the bottom of my piece to the top.  If I were to do this project again I would choose a composition that had more equal line weight throughout the entire picture plane.  I would also make the lines have a more drastic difference in size. Although I feel as if this piece could have been more successful, I am pleased with my finished project.  I like how the top of the piece almost feels like an optical illusion due to the changes in line weight. I also learned to scan my piece before mounting it onto the Bristol board.

Leave a comment