Project #4: Directional Dominance

For this week’s project, I used implied lines to create the shape of a triangle. I used a lot of diagonal directional dominance to contrast the large star-like shapes. The high contrast of value between the black lines on the bottom and the brightness of the triangle creates depth and makes it feel like the triangle is on top of everything. I also used stippling in the inner triangle to create more value. Stippling uses compressed and expanded space to create value and blending. The directional conflict throughout the piece also shows depth. If I were to do this project again I would use less actual lines and more implied lines. I would also use more extremely light values to create even more depth. Overall I am very pleased with how it turned out. I think it is one of my stronger pieces.

Leave a comment